Who we are


Meet our leaders of MetaBank. With over 100 years of combined experience, MetaBank offers traditional banking services designed to serve the needs of consumers and businesses through our nine branch locations in South Dakota and Iowa. We are passionate about our customers and dedicated to the communities we serve.

Get to know your team.

Community Banking President

With an 18-year tenure at MetaBank, Kathy is the Community Bank President for South Dakota and Iowa as well as the Market President for Sioux Falls, SD. She brings expertise in commercial and retail banking, starting as a teller in college and advancing to business banking and management. Kathy has succeeded by ensuring the staff gives great attention to detail with customers: “One little thing at a time, done really well, adds up to exceptional customer service and long-term relationships.” Prior to MetaBank, Kathy was employed at US Bank right out of college and later Marquette Bank.

Kathy is a Sioux Falls native, receiving a bachelor’s degree in business administration and computer science from Augustana University and an MBA from the University of South Dakota. She is active in the community, including having served as Board President of the Sioux Council Boy Scouts Board of Directors. Kathy enjoys the local culture of Sioux Falls, especially the theater and symphony.


  • Retail and Commercial Banking
  • Bank Operations
  • Leadership

Community Involvement 

  • Volunteers of America Foundation, Board Vice Chair
  • Sioux Council Boy Scouts of America, past Board President and current Capital Campaign Chair
  • Sioux Falls Downtown Rotary, Member
  • Center for Active Generations Board of Directors, past Board Member and Chair

"At MetaBank, we espouse a culture of caring and service. My greatest strength is giving our customers the special attention they deserve and imparting that sensibility to my staff."

Kathy Thorson Photo