Who we are


MetaBank is led by experienced industry professionals who have a hand in every aspect of the business – from the day-to-day operations of the bank branches to the molding of the financial industry, offering up their expertise in the nation’s capital.

Get to know your team.

Chief Executive Officer, MetaBank and Meta Financial Group

In his position as MetaBank and Meta Financial Group CEO, J. Tyler Haahr strives to guide the company in living out one of its missions – helping serve the unbanked and underbanked through financial inclusion and expanded banking products and services. With a background in the financial and legal industry, Tyler uses his experiences and his belief in this mission to set policy and direction for MetaBank and its holding company Meta Financial Group.

Meta Financial Group and its affiliates have employed Tyler since March 1997.  Previously, he was a partner with the law firm of Lewis and Roca LLP in Phoenix, Ariz.  He serves on the Board of Directors and as Treasurer of the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, and he is a director of the South Dakota Technology Center.  He also serves as the Treasurer and as a member of the Board of Directors of South Dakota Achieve.  Tyler serves as a director and is also past Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Sioux Falls YMCA.  He received his B.S. degree with honors from the University of South Dakota in Vermillion, S.D.  He graduated with honors from the Georgetown University Law Center in Washington, D.C.

"Always be honest, fair and loyal with the people with which you work.  Never let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do."

J. Tyler Haahr - CEO of MetaBank and Meta Financial Group